Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 21

Session 2006-07, 9 March 2007

Notice of Forthcoming Public Evidence Session: Counter-Terrorism Policy and Human Rights:

The following oral evidence session has been arranged in the Committee's Inquiry into counter-terrorism policy and human rights. The session will focus on possible ways of relaxing the ban on the admissibility of intercept evidence to facilitate prosecution in terrorism-related cases and on the role of special advocates:

Monday 12 March at 4.15pm in Committee Room 4A:

Sir Ken Macdonald QC, Director of Public Prosecutions;
Jon Murphy, Deputy Chief Constable of Merseyside;
The Rt Hon Lord Lloyd of Berwick, former Law Lord;
The Rt Hon Sir Swinton Thomas, retired Lord Justice of Appeal;
Commander Richard Gargini, National Co-ordinator of Community Engagement

at 5.15pm:

Special advocates:
Nick Blake QC
Martin Chamberlain
Judith Farbey
Andy Nicol QC

The above meeting is open to members of the public. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. Members of the public enter via St Stephens Entrance to the Palace of Westminster.

Committee rooms are subject to change. It is advisable that those interested check the House of Commons Committee Information Line which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact number for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Judd (Labour)Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
The Earl of Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills) Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mark Tami MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL: