Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 17

Session 2006-07, 01 March 2007

Forthcoming Publication
Counter-terrorism Policy and Human Rights: Draft Prevention of Terrorism Act 2005 (Continuance in force of sections 1 to 9) Order 2007

The Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) publishes its Eighth Report of Session 2006-07, Counter-terrorism Policy and Human Rights: Prevention of Terrorism Act 2005 (Continuance in force of sections 1 to 9) Order 2007, on Sunday 4 March 2007 at 00.01 hours as House of Lords Paper HL 60, House of Commons Paper HC 365.

The draft Order continues in force the regime of control orders, contained in sections 1 to 9 of the Prevention of Terrorism Act 2005, for a further year, from 11 March 2007 until 10 March 2008. The Committee reported last year on the 2006 Order in its Twelfth Report of Session 2005-06.

Embargoed advance copies of the Report will be available to the media from 10.00am on Friday 2 March: please contact Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer on the number given below.

The report will be available from The Stationery Office (tel: 0870 600 5522), Parliamentary Hotline Lo-call 0845 7 023474, Email:, Internet:, TSO shops, The Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, London SW1A 2JX (tel 020 7219 3890) and through good booksellers. It will also be on the Committee=s website at the address below after publication.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
The Earl of Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mark Tami MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL:


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724