Session 2002-2003

20 November 2003


The Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill publishes its Report on Friday 28 November 2003 at 00.01 am (HL Paper 189-I, HC 1083-I, Session 2002-03).

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available for collection by Government departments, press and witnesses from 11.00 am on Thursday 27 November from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. These should be requested IN ADVANCE from the Committee Assistant (tel: 020 7219 8387). The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel: 0845 702 3890), or can be viewed on our website from 4.00 pm on 28 November.

Visit: http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/jcmib.cfm

Oral and written evidence will be published separately as Volume 2 of the Report (HL Paper 189-II, HC 1083-II).  Copies will be available to all those who contributed to the Report.

The Report will also be printed as an easy read guide for people with learning difficulties.  This guide will be available shortly after the publication date of 28 November 2003.  Requests for this guide should be made to the Committee Assistant (tel. 020 7219 8387).  The guide will also be available on our website.

Information about the Joint Committee:

The two Houses of Parliament established a Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill, which was published by the Government on 27 June 2003 (Cm 5859).  The text of the draft Bill can be found at:


The remit of the Committee is to consider the draft bill, and to report on it to both Houses by the end of November 2003. 

The members of the Committee are as follows:

Lord Carter (Labour) Chairman
Baroness Barker (Liberal Democrat)
Baroness Fookes (Conservative)
Baroness Knight of Collingtree (Conservative)
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall (Labour)
Lord Pearson of Rannoch (Conservative)
Lord Rix (Crossbencher)
Baroness Wilkins (Labour)
Mr John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham)
Mrs Angela Browning MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)
Mr Paul Burstow MP (Liberal Democrat, Sutton and Cheam)
Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)
Stephen Hesford MP (Labour, Wirral West)
Mrs Joan Humble MP (Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood)
Huw Irranca-Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)
Laura Moffatt MP (Labour, Crawley)

Contact:Francene Graham
E-mail: scrutiny@parliament.uk
Tel: 020 7219 8387
Fax: 020 7219 8381