Session 2002-2003

7 October 2003

Press Notice 3

No. 3 of Session 2002-03, 7 October 2003

Programme of oral evidence

Programme of oral evidence

The two Houses of Parliament have established a Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill, which was published by the Government on 27 June 2003 (Cm 5859).  The text of the draft Bill can be found at:


The remit of the Committee is to consider the draft bill, and to report on it to both Houses by the end of November 2003. The Committee will proceed in the normal manner of Select Committees, by holding hearings and receiving written evidence. The Committee will publish a report making recommendations.

The Committee will take oral evidence in public from the following witnesses:

8 October 2003 at 3.45 pm
The British Medical Association.  Followed by a joint evidence session: The British Psychological Society and The Royal College of Psychiatrists at 4.30 pm.

9 October 2003 at 3.45 pm
Professor the Baroness Finlay of Llandaff.  Followed by a joint evidence session: The Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales, The Linacre Centre for Healthcare Ethics, The Guild of Catholic Doctors, The Medical Ethics Alliance and The Church of England Archbishops' Council at 4.15 pm.

14 October 2003 at 3.45 pm
The Association of Directors of Social Services.  Followed by Denzil Lush, Master of the Court of Protection at 4.30 pm and Professor John Williams, University of Walesat 5.00 pm.

15 October 2003 at 3.45 pm
The Law Society of England and Wales.

21 October 2003 at 3.45 pm
Joint evidence session: Changing Perspectives, People First, Values into Action and Mr Simon Cramp.  Followed by Rescare and others (to be confirmed) at 4.45 pm.

22 October 2003 at 4.00 pm
Lord Filkin, Department for Constitutional Affairs.

Meetings usually take place in Committee Room 6 in the Palace of Westminster; but it is advisable to ring the office on 020 7219 8387 to check the venue of each meeting a few days in advance.


The members of the Committee are as follows:

Lord Carter (Labour) Chairman
Baroness Barker (Liberal Democrat)
Baroness Fookes (Conservative)
Baroness Knight of Collingtree (Conservative)
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall (Labour)
Lord Pearson of Rannoch (Conservative)
Lord Rix (Crossbencher)
Baroness Wilkins (Labour)

Mr John Bercow MP (Conservative, Buckingham)
Mrs Angela Browning MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)
Mr Paul Burstow MP (Liberal Democrat, Sutton and Cheam)
Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)
Stephen Hesford MP (Labour, Wirral West)
Mrs Joan Humble MP (Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood)
Huw Irranca-Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)
Laura Moffatt MP (Labour, Crawley)

At its first meeting on Tuesday 15 July, the Committee elected Lord Carter as Chairman.

Further notices will be issued shortly, indicating how the Committee will proceed.

To follow the progress of the inquiry, you may:

Visit: http://www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/jcmib.cfm

Ask to be added to the mailing list for future notices.


Francene Graham
Committee Assistant to the Joint Committee on the Draft Mental Incapacity Bill
Room G10
7 Millbank
House of Commons
London SW1A 0PW
Or email: scrutiny@parliament.uk

Tel: 020 7219 8387
Fax: 020 7219 8381