jcdmhb 02

Session 2003-04, 14 October 2004

First oral evidence sessions

First oral evidence sessions

Following publication of the draft Mental Health Bill on 8 September (Cm 6305), the Joint Committee will start taking oral evidence on Wednesday, 20th October.  Evidence sessions are expected to take place up until the end of January 2005 and the Committee has to report by 31st March 2005.

The text of the draft Bill is available via our homepage.


The Committee will take oral evidence in public from the following witnesses:

Wednesday 20 October, 9.45am 

Professor Genevra Richardson (former Chair of the Expert Committee which published  "Review of the Mental Health Act 1983" in November 1999); and

The Mental Health Act Commission

Wednesday 27 October, 9.45am

The Royal College of Psychiatrists; and

Institute of Mental Health Act Practitioners (IMHAP)

Wednesday 3 November, 9.45am

The Mental Health Alliance; and

The Law Society and the Bar Council

Further evidence sessions are to be announced. Meetings will take place in the Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House at the Palace of Westminster; it is advisable to ring the office on 020 7219 8363 to check the precise venue of each meeting a few days in advance.

For maps and directions to Parliament please click on the link below:


A transcript of each public meeting will be placed on the Committee's web pages.  The web pages also contain the Committee's call for written evidence, and will contain much of the written evidence received by the Committee: 


 Notes to Editors

1 Membership of the Committee:

Chairman: Lord Carlile of Berriew (Lib Dem)

Mrs Liz Blackman, MP (Lab, Erewash); Mrs Angela Browning, MP (Cons, Tiverton and Honiton); Mr David Hinchliffe, MP (Lab, Wakefield); Mr George Howarth, MP (Lab, Knowsley North and Sefton East); Tim Loughton, MP (Cons, East Worthing and Shoreham); Mr Paul Marsden, MP (LibDem, Shrewsbury and Atcham); Laura Moffatt, MP (Lab, Crawley); Ms Meg Munn, MP (Lab, Sheffield Heeley); Dr Doug Naysmith, MP (Lab, Bristol North West); Mr Gwyn Prosser, MP (Lab, Dover); Dr Howard Stoate, MP (Lab, Dartford);  Hywel Williams, MP (Plaid Cymru, Caernarfon);

Baroness Barker (Lib Dem); Lord Carter (Lab); Baroness Cumberlege (Cons); Baroness Eccles of Moulton (Cons); Baroness Finlay of Llandaff (Cross Bencher); Baroness Flather (Cons); Lord Mayhew of Twysden (Cons); Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall (Lab); Baroness Pitkeathley (Lab); Lord Rix (Cross Bencher); Lord Turnberg (Lab)

2 Written Evidence:

The Joint Committee invites interested organisations and individuals to submit written evidence as part of its inquiry into the Draft Mental Health Bill. Submissions, reflecting the guidance on written evidence given in this press notice, should reach the Committee as soon as possible and no later than Monday, 1 November 2004.

For guidance on submitting written evidence please see the first Press Notice of the Committee:


If you wish to be added to the mailing list for future press notices from the Committee, please contact:

Richard Dawson
Committee Office Scrutiny Unit
House of Commons
London   SW1P 3JA

E-mail: scrutiny@parliament.uk   (Please put  Mental Health in the subject box).

Tel: 020 7219 8363
Fax 020 7219 8381