JCDMarineBill - PN8 - 240708

Committee Announcement 8
Date: 24 July 2008 (for Immediate Release)


The Joint Committee on the Draft Marine Bill will be publishing its report on the ‘Draft Marine Bill’(HC 552-I, HL Paper 159-I) on Wednesday 30th July at 00.01am.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to witnesses and members of the press on Tuesday 29 July from 11.00 am to 12.30 pm from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, London, SW1A 3JA. These must be requested in advance by e-mail sent to draftmarinebill@parliament.uk, or by calling the Committee Assistant (Tel: 020 7219 8387) . Members of the press who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact Laura Kibby in the Media Office on 020 7219 0718.

Further copies may be obtained from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available on our website at the address below on the day of publication



1. The two Houses of Parliament established a Joint Committee on the Draft Marine Bill  to consider the draft Bill, and to report on it to both Houses. The Committee's inquiry proceeded in a similar way to other Select Committee inquiries and held hearings and received written evidence, producing a report and making recommendations to the Government.

2. Members of the Committee

House of Commons:
Linda Gilroy MP, Plymouth Sutton, Labour Co-op
Nia Griffith MP, Llanelli, Labour
Anne Main MP, St Albans, Conservative
Martin Salter MP, Reading West,  Labour
Sir Peter Soulsby MP, Leicester South, Labour
Mr Robert Syms MP, Poole, Conservative
Paddy Tipping MP, Sherwood, Labour
Mr Charles Walker MP, Broxbourne, Conservative
Joan Walley MP, Stoke-on-Trent North, Labour
Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Southampton Test, Labour
Mr Roger Williams MP, Brecon and Radnorshire, Liberal Democrats

House of Lords:
Baroness Byford, Conservative
Earl of Caithness, Conservative
Lord Greaves, Liberal Democrats
Lord Greenway (Chairman), Cross Bench
Lord Haworth, Labour
Lord Hunt of Chesterton, Labour
Baroness Jones of Whitchurch, Labour
Lord Lewis of Newnham, Cross Bench
Lord MacKenzie of Culkein, Labour
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer, Liberal Democrats
Earl of Selborne, Conservative

3. More information on the Committee’s work can be found on the Committee’s website


4. Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Tel: 020 7219 0718, Email kibbyl@parliament.uk

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk