JCDMarineBill - PN5 - 200608

Committee Announcement 4, Session 2007-08
Date: 20 June 2008 ( for Immediate Release)


The Committee will take oral evidence in public from the following witnesses:

Wednesday 25 June - Public: 10.15 a.m., Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

European Commission Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries; Wildlife and Countryside Link (at 11.15 a.m.)

Thursday 26 June - Public 10.15 a.m., Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Scottish Government; Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and the Department for Transport (at 11.00 a.m.); The Rt. Hon. Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State, and Jonathan Shaw MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (at 12.00 noon)

These sessions conclude the Joint Committee’s programme of evidence-taking. It is advisable to ring the office on 020 7219 8387 to check the precise venue of each meeting a few days in advance.

For maps and directions to Parliament please click on the link below:


A transcript of each public meeting will be placed on the Committee’s web pages.  The web pages also contain the Committee’s call for written evidence, and will contain much of the written evidence received by the Committee: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/jcdmb.cfm


1.     Committee Membership is as follows:

Linda Gilroy MP, Plymouth Sutton, Labour Co-op
Nia Griffith MP, Llanelli, Labour
Anne Main MP, St Albans, Conservative
Martin Salter MP, Reading West,  Labour
Sir Peter Soulsby MP, Leicester South, Labour
Mr Robert Syms MP, Poole, Conservative
Paddy Tippping MP, Sherwood, Labour
Mr Charles Walker MP, Broxbourne, Conservative
Joan Walley MP, Stoke-on-Trent North, Labour
Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Southampton Test, Labour
Mr Roger Williams MP, Brecon and Radnorshire, Liberal Democrats

Baroness Byford,  Conservative
Earl of Caithness,  Conservative
Lord Greaves,  Liberal Democrats
Lord Greenway (Chairman),  Cross Bench
Lord Haworth,  Labour
Lord Hunt of Chesterton,  Labour
Baroness Jones of Whitchurch,  Labour
Lord Lewis of Newnham,  Cross Bench
Lord MacKenzie of Culkein,  Labour
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer,  Liberal Democrats
Earl of Selborne,  Conservative

Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Tel: 020 7219 0718

Committee Information: e-mail: draftmarinebill@parliament.uk

Tel: 020 7219 8383

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/jcdmb.cfm

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk

If you wish to be added to the mailing list for future notices, please contact:

Francene Graham
Committee Assistant to the Joint Committee on the Draft Marine Bill
Scrutiny Unit, 7 Millbank
London, SW1P 3JA

E-mail: draftmarinebill@parliament.uk
Tel: 020 7219 8387