Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill

Session 2002 - 03

16th September 2003

Press Notice 1 : Committee Remit

The two Houses of Parliament have established a Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill. The full text of the draft Bill has not yet been published. Certain clauses were published by the Department of Culture, Media and Sport on 15 July 2003
(Cm 5878). These can be found at:

The remit of the Committee is to consider the draft bill and to report on it to both Houses. The Committee will proceed in the normal manner of Select Committees, by holding hearings and receiving written evidence. The Committee will publish a report making recommendations by 8 April 2004 to which the Government must respond.


Chairman: John Greenway MP (Ryedale) Conservative

Janet Anderson (Rossendale & Darwen) Labour
Tony Banks (West Ham) Labour
Jeff Ennis (Barnsley East & Mexborough) Labour
Alan Meale (Mansfield) Labour
Richard Page (South West Hertfordshire) Conservative
Dr John Pugh (Southport) Lib Dem
Tony D. Wright (Great Yarmouth) Labour

The Rt Hon Lord Brooke of Sutton Mandeville Conservative
Lord Donoughue Labour
Lord Falkland Lib Dem
Lord Faulkner of Worcester Labour
Baroness Golding Labour
Lord Mancroft Conservative
Lord Wade of Chorlton Conservative
Lord Walpole Cross Bencher

Members' declared interests will be available on the Committee's website in due course.

At its first meeting on 16th September 2003, the Committee elected John Greenway MP as Chairman.

The Joint Committee will invite interested organisations and individuals to submit written evidence once further details of the draft bill are published by the Department of Culture, Media and Sport. Oral evidence sessions will follow. The programme of such evidence sessions will be announced nearer the time.

Further notices will be issued as soon as possible, indicating how the Committee will proceed.

To follow the progress of the inquiry, you may:


Ask to be added to the mailing list for future notices.

Alison Mara
Committee Office Scrutiny Unit
House of Commons, London

E-mail: (Please have the single word Gambling in the subject box).

Tel: 020 7219 8388

Fax 020 7219 8381