jcdgb rg 3

Session 2003-04, 19 July 2004

Committee publishes its report

Committee publishes its report

The Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill (Regional Casinos) will publish its report on Thursday 22 July 2004 at 11.00 am (HL Paper 146-I, HC 843-I, Session 2003-04). The Committee is holding a press conference to launch the report.

The original Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill published its report on 7 April 2004 (HL Paper 63, HC 139, Session 2003 - 04). The Government response was published on 14 June (Cm 6253). The report assesses the Government's latest proposals relating to the definition, location and economic and other implications of the largest casinos (referred to as 'regional' casinos in the Government's response).


Advance copies of the report for witnesses to this inquiry and the media will be available under strict embargo for collection from 10.00 am on Thursday 22 July from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (tel: 020 7219 8363).   Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Press Gallery.

Embargoed copies of the report will also be available in the Boothroyd Room from 10.00 am.

The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel: 0845 702 3890 / 3474), or can be viewed on the Committee's website from 4.00 pm on the day of publication:


Volume II, oral and written evidence will be published on Wednesday 28 July and distributed to those who contributed to the inquiry (HL Paper 146-II, HC 843-II, Session 2003-04).


The press conference will take place in the Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House, Westminster, at 11.00 am on Thursday 22 July. The entrance to Portcullis House is on the Victoria Embankment, Westminster (see below for a map link). 

For maps and directions to Parliament please click on the link below:



Chairman: John Greenway MP (Ryedale) (Conservative)
Janet Anderson MP (Rossendale & Darwen) Labour
Tony Banks MP (West Ham) Labour
Jeff Ennis MP (Barnsley East & Mexborough) Labour
Alan Meale MP (Mansfield) Labour
Richard Page MP (South West Hertfordshire) Conservative
Dr John Pugh MP (Southport) Lib Dem
Tony D. Wright MP (Great Yarmouth) Labour
Rt Hon Lord Brooke of Sutton Mandeville Conservative
Lord Donoughue of Ashton Labour
Lord Falkland Lib Dem
Lord Faulkner of Worcester Labour
Baroness Golding Labour
Lord Mancroft Conservative
Lord Wade of Chorlton Conservative
Lord Walpole Cross Bencher