jcdgb rg 2

Session, 2003/04, 29 June 2004

Appointment of Chairman, oral evidence hearings

Appointment of Chairman, oral evidence hearings

The two Houses of Parliament have appointed a Joint Committee on the Draft Gambling Bill (Regional casinos) to consider and report on the Government's response to the Joint Committee on the draft Gambling Bill's recommendations 79, 80, 81, 83, 84 and 85, which focus upon the definition, location and economic and other implications of the largest casinos.  The Committee is also instructed to consider the further statement of Government policy on casinos published with the Government's response.  This follows a recommendation by the Committee in its report that it should be reconvened to examine this important area of policy.  The Committee is instructed to report to both Houses by 22nd July 2004.

The report of the Joint Committee on the draft Gambling Bill  and the Government's response can be found via our web pages at:



The Committee held its first meeting on 23 June, and agreed to appoint John Greenway MP, who chaired the original inquiry, as Chairman. The full membership of the Committee is the same as the original Committee:

Janet Anderson MP (Rossendale & Darwen) Labour
Tony Banks MP (West Ham) Labour
Jeff Ennis MP (Barnsley East & Mexborough) Labour
John Greenway MP (Ryedale) Conservative
Alan Meale MP (Mansfield) Labour
Richard Page MP (South West Hertfordshire) Conservative
Dr John Pugh MP (Southport) Lib Dem
Tony D. Wright MP (Great Yarmouth) Labour

The Rt Hon Lord Brooke of Sutton Mandeville Conservative
Lord Donoughue Labour
Lord Falkland Lib Dem
Lord Faulkner of Worcester Labour
Baroness Golding Labour
Lord Mancroft Conservative
Lord Wade of Chorlton Conservative
Lord Walpole Cross Bencher


Thursday 1 July

around 9.45 am - Rt Hon the Lord McIntosh of Haringey, Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department for Culture, Media and Sport, Mr Elliot Grant, Head of  Gambling and National Lottery Licensing Division and Mr Greig Chalmers, Gambling Bill Manager.

Tuesday 6 July in Committee Room 8

around 9.45 am - Mr Tim Hill, Director of Planning, Transport and Sustainability, North West Regional Assembly, and Ms Eleanor Young, Mayor's Policy Adviser, Greater London Authority.

around 10.45 am - Mr Reg Haslam, Head of New Horizons Team, Blackpool Council, Mr Steve Weaver, Chief Executive of Blackpool Council, Ms Judith Saloman, Director of Planning, London First, and Mr Michael Gallimore, Head of Planning, Lovells.

Tuesday 6 July in Committee Room 8

around 2.45 pm - Viscountess Cobham, Chairman, British Casino Association (BCA), Mr John Kelly, Chairman of Gala, Mr Andrew Herd, Chairman and Chief Executive, Westcliff Casino Group and Mr Andrew Love, Chairman, Casino Operators' Association of the UK (COA(UK)), plus one representative of a COA(UK) member firm.

around 3.45 pm - Mr Lloyd Nathan, Managing Director, Europe, MGM Mirage, Mr Peter Bacon, Chief Executive, Sun International, Mr Andrew Tottenham, UK Representative of Caesar's Entertainment, Mr Tobin Prior, Chief Executive Officer, UK Gaming, Kerzner International, Mr Steve Eisner, Vice President of Development, Ameristar Casinos, and a representative of Las Vegas Sands.

Thursday 8 July in the Wilson Room (Details to be confirmed)

 Entrance is via St Stephen's entrance, Palace of Westminster (see last page of this press notice for a map link).  Please allow approximately 20 minutes to clear security. Transcripts will be placed on the Internet within about a week of the session taking place.

Please note that the details of witnesses, timings and venue are subject to change.  It is advisable to contact the Committee Office information line on 020-7219 2033 or the Joint Committee's office on 020-7219 8675 to check the details a few days before the evidence session. 


Claudia Rock,
Committee Office,
House of Lords,

e-mail: scrutiny@parliament.uk

Tel: 020-7219 8675

For maps and directions to Parliament please click on the link below: