Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill

Date: 24 July 2008


The Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill will be publishing its report on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill (HC 551-I and HL 166-I) on Thursday 31st July at 00.01am.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to witnesses and members of the press on Wednesday 30th July from 11.00 am to 12.30 pm from the reception desk, 2 Millbank, House of Lords, London SW1P 3LX .

These must be requested in advance by e-mail sent to or by calling Committee staff (Tel: 020 7219 8675; 020 7219 8369; or 020 7219 8363) .

Witnesses who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact Committee staff (contact details above).

Media representatives who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact Becky Jones (contact details below).

Further copies may be obtained on publication from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474). The report will be available on our website at the address below on the day of publication

Volume II ( HC 551-II, HL166 -II), containing oral and written evidence, will be published on Tuesday 12th August.


1. The two Houses of Parliament established the Joint Committee on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill to consider the draft Bill, and to report on it to both Houses. The Committee held its first meeting on 6 May 2008 and its inquiry proceeded in a similar way to those of other Select Committees. The Committee held hearings with 56 witnesses and received 80 written submissions. The draft Bill itself is available at .

2.. Members of the Committee

Lords Members

Lord Armstrong of Ilminster
Lord Campbell of Alloway
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie
Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen
Lord Hart of Chilton
Lord Maclennan of Rogart
Lord Morgan
Lord Norton of Louth
Lord Plant of Highfield
Lord Tyler
Lord Williamson of Horton

Commons Members

Mr Alistair Carmichael MP
Christopher Chope MP
Michael Jabez Foster MP (Chairman)
Mark Lazarowicz MP
Martin Linton MP
Ian Lucas MP
Fiona Mactaggart MP
Mr Virendra Sharma MP
Emily Thornberry MP
Mr Andrew Tyrie MP
Sir George Young MP

3. More information on the Committee's work can be found on the Committee's website:

4. Media Enquiries: Becky Jones Tel: 020 7219 5693 Mobile: 07917 488549


Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard and much more, can be found on