Joint Committee on the Draft Charities Bill

No. 5 of Session 2003-04, 22 September 2004

Embargo: For immediate release

Further information: Francene Graham 0207 219 8387



The Joint Committee on the Draft Charities Bill will publish its report on Thursday 30 September 2004 at 11.00 am  (HL Paper 167, HC 660-I, Session 2003-04). 


Advance copies of the report for witnesses to this inquiry and the media will be available under strict embargo for collection from 11.00 am till 2.00 pm on Wednesday 29 September from the reception desk, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.  These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (tel. 020 7219 8387).  Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Press Galleries.

The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel. 0845 702 3890/3474), or can be viewed on the Committee's website from 4.00 pm on the day of publication:

Oral and written evidence will be published separately as Volume II and III of the Report (HL Paper 167-II and III, HC 660 - II and III). Copies will be distributed to those who contributed to the inquiry.

Notes to Editors

1    Information about the Committee

The two Houses of Parliament established a Joint Committee on the Draft Charities Bill, which was published by the Government on 27 May 2004 (Cm 6199).  The text of the draft Bill can be found at:

The remit of the Committee is to consider the draft bill, and report on it to both Houses.  The committee will publish a report making recommendations (to which the Government must respond) by the end of September 2004.

Membership of the Committee:

Chairman: Rt Hon Alan Milburn MP (Lab, Darlington).

Lord Best (Crossbench); Lord Campbell-Savours (Labour); Earl of Caithness (Conservative); Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall (Labour); Lord Phillips of Sudbury (LibDem); Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover (Con); Mr Alan Campbell MP (Lab, Tynemouth); Rt Hon George Foulkes MP (Lab, Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley); Ms Sally Keeble MP (Lab, Northampton North); Mr Andrew Mitchell MP (Con, Sutton Coldfield); Bob Russell MP (LibDem, Colchester).

To follow the inquiry, see: