Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

30 June 2008

No. 62 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its first evidence session in this inquiry on Monday 7 July when evidence will be heard from:

At 4.15pm

Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith, Director, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (Culham Division);
Professor Jonathan Billowes, Director of Education, Dalton Nuclear Institute;
Dr Stephen Garwood, Director,  Engineering & Technology - Submarines, Rolls-Royce; and
Dr Graham Baldwin, Pro Vice Chancellor (Nuclear Industries), University of Central Lancashire.

At 5.00pm

Clive Smith OBE, Nuclear Director, Cogent (also representing the National Skills Academy for Nuclear);
Robert Skelton, Vice President, Institution of Nuclear Engineers; and
Michael Grave, Vice President, British Nuclear Energy Society.

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 4.15pm.

The session is open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: