Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee

29 November 2007

No.5 (07-08)


The Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee was scheduled to take evidence from the Rt Hon John Denham MP, Secretary of State and Ian Watmore, Permanent Secretary, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills on Wednesday 5 December.  This session has now been rescheduled for Wednesday 16 January 2008.

The Committee will now be taking evidence from Professor Sir David King, Government Chief Scientific Adviser on Wednesday 5 December, at 9.30am in Committee Room 8.

The sessions is open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


1.     Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Conservative, Windsor)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website: 

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: