Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

25 March 2008

No. 40 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Sub-Committee into Biosecurity in UK Research Laboratories will hold its second evidence session on Monday 31 March when evidence will be heard from:


Professor Chris Thorns Science Director, Veterinary Laboratories Agency;
Dr John Stephenson, Director of Research and Development, Health Protection Agency;
Mr Steve Visscher, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council interim Chief Executive; and
A representative from the Medical Research Council


Professor Martin Shirley, Director, Institute for Animal Health;
Professor Robin Weiss, President, Society for General Microbiology; and
A representative from the Institute of Safety in Technology and Research

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 4.15pm.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)#
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry) *
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole) *
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North) *
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon) *
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East) *
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Independent, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley) *
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

* member of the Sub-Committee
# Chairman of the Sub-Committee

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: