Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

21 July 2008

No. 69 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee today announced a new inquiry into the draft Apprenticeships Bill, which was published by the Government on 16 July (Cm 7452).

The Committee will focus on the following questions:

• Does the bill meet the Government’s policy objectives to set up a system of “world class” apprenticeships in the most effective way within a reasonable time frame?
• Is the bill workable?
• Will the bill lead to a renaissance in apprenticeships?
• What is the cost?
• What impact the bill will have on current institutional structures?
• Is there anything missing from the draft bill?

The Government is carrying out a consultation exercise on the draft bill and has invited comments-at -and has agreed that copies of the responses it receives will be supplied to the Committee.  The Committee will consider these responses during the course of its inquiry.  Respondents can, however, supply copies directly to the Committee.  In addition, interested parties can supply original submissions directly to the Committee. The deadline for submissions to the Committee is Wednesday 1 October 2008.

The Children, Schools and Families Committee will be carrying out a separate inquiry into those parts of the draft bill that deal with apprenticeships for 16-18 year olds, including careers education in schools.

Guidelines for the submission of evidence

Each submission should:

a) be no more than 3,000 words in length;
b) begin with a short summary in bullet point form;
c) have numbered paragraphs; and
d) be in Word format ( no later than 2003) with as little use of colour or logos as possible.

A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to and marked “Draft Apprenticeships Bill”.  An additional paper copy should be sent to:

Camilla Brace, Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals submitting written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Please supply a postal address so a copy of the Committee’s report can be sent to you upon publication.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

€ Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a proposed memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

€ Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organisation submitting it is specifically authorised.

€ Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

€ Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: