Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee

22 January 2008

No. 19 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities and Skills Sub-Committee on the Work and Operation of the Copyright Tribunal will hold its first evidence session in this inquiry on Monday 28 January when evidence will be heard from:

At 4.15pm

Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society
Richard Combes
, Head of Rights & Licensing, and Nigel Warburton, Author;

Dominic McGonigal, Director of Government Relations, Phonographic Performance Limited; and

Tim Padfield, Chair, Libraries and Archives Copyright Alliance.

At 5.00pm

Intellectual Property Office
Ian Fletcher
, Chief Executive, Edmund Quilty, Copyright and IP Enforcement Director and Andrew Layton, Trade Marks and Designs Director; and

His Honour Judge Fysh QC, Chairman of the Copyright Tribunal.

The session will take place in Committee Room 6 at 4.15pm.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman) *
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry) *
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole) *
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North) * #
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East) *
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown) *
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

* member of the Sub-Committee
# Chairman of the Sub-Committee

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: