Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

18 June 2008

No. 60 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its third evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 25 June when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am:

Chris Humphries, Chief Executive, UK Commission for Employment and Skills;
Teresa Sayers, Chief Executive, Financial Services Skills Council;
Tom Bewick, Chief Executive, Creative and Cultural Skills; and
Frank Lord, Chair, Alliance Employment and Skills Board.

At 10.15am:

Steven Broomhead, Chief Executive, Northwest Regional Development Agency;
David Hughes, Regional Director, Learning and Skills Council (LSC) London; and
David Cragg, National Director, Adult Learning and Employment, Learning and Skills Council.

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 9.30am.

The sessions is open to the public on a first come, first served basis. Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


The Committee announced this inquiry in press notice No.31 of Session 2007-08,

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: