Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

15 May 2008

No. 52 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its third evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 21 May when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30 am

Keith Elliott, Principal of City, Bristol College, representing Association of Colleges;
Professor Barry Clarke, Vice President and President Elect, Engineering Professors' Council;
Dr Lesley Thompson, Director, Research Directorate, EPSRC; and
Lynn Tomkins, Director, UK Policy, Semta

10.15 am

Chris Allam, Project Director SUAV(E), BAE Systems;
Ms Lee Hopley, Senior Economist, Engineering Employers Federation; and
Ian Coucher, Chief Executive, Network Rail.

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 9.30am.

The sessions is open to the public on a first come, first served basis. Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: