Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

11 June 2008

No. 56 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its first evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 18  June when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.45 am

Professor Sir Richard Friend,  Cavendish Professor of Physics, University of Cambridge, appearing on behalf of the Institute of Physics;
Ian French; and
The Royal Academy of Engineering

10.30 am

Mike Biddle, Technology Strategy Board;
Vince Osgood, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council;
Hermann Hauser, Amadeus Capital Partners Ltd; and
Fergus Harradence, Deputy Director of Innovation Policy, Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 9.45am.

The session is open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: