Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee

11 March 2008

No. 33 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities and Skills Sub-Committee into Biosecurity in UK Research Laboratories will hold its first evidence session on Monday 17 March when evidence will be heard from:


Sir Bill Callaghan, former chair of Health and Safety Commission, Chairman of the review of the regulatory framework for handling animal pathogens
Professor George Griffin, Chair of the Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens (ACDP)


Dr Paul Logan, Principal Specialist Inspector, Specialised Industries Division, HSE
Dr Matthew Penrose, Principal Specialist Inspector, Specialised Industries Division, HSE
Dr Ruth Lysons, Deputy Director, Food & Farming Group, DEFRA
Dr Nick Coulson, Head of International Animal Health, DEFRA

The session will take place in Grimond room at 4.15pm.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)#
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry) *
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole) *
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North) *
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon) *
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East) *
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley) *
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

* member of the Sub-Committee
# Chairman of the Sub-Committee

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: