Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

9 July 2008

No. 68 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its second evidence session in this inquiry on Wednesday 16 July when evidence will be heard from:

At 9.30am:

Dr Ian Hudson, Engineering, Technology & Skills Director, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority;
Alex Walsh, Head of Civil Muclear Programmes, BAE Systems;
Fiona Ware, Vice President Operational Excellence and Transformation, AMEC’s Nuclear Business; and
Bill Bryce, Chair, New Build Working Group, Nuclear Industry Association.

At 10.15am:

David Barber, Head of Technical Training, British Energy;
Adrian Bull, UK Stakeholder Relations Manager, Westinghouse; and
Dr Mike Weightman, HM Chief Inspector, Nuclear Installations Inspectorate.

The session will take place in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House at 9.30am.

The session is open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: