Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

8 May 2008

No. 50 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee is conducting an inquiry into how responses to the agenda set out in the Leitch Report would affect the broader structures of further education (FE), higher education (HE) and lifelong learning.

The Committee will launch the inquiry with a visit to Leeds and a formal evidence session where it will discuss issues raised by the inquiry with organisations involved in the development and delivery of skills and training in Yorkshire and the Humberside region.

The evidence session will take place at 2.00pm in the Sullivan Room, Leeds Town Hall, on Wednesday 14 May when evidence will be heard from:

Ms Liz Wallis, Managing Director, Digital 2010;

Professor Geoff Layer, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Learning and Teaching, University of Bradford;

Dr Roger Bennett, Principal, North Lindsey College;

Mr Gary Williamson, Executive Director, Leeds Chamber of Commerce & Industry;

Ms Linda Florance, Chief Executive, Skillsfast UK;

Mr Mark Andrews, Chief Executive, NG Bailey; and

Mr Tom Smith, Head of Adult, Families and Extended Learning, Barnsley Learning Net

The meeting is open to the public and entrance to the Sullivan Room is via Calverley Street. Disabled access is via the main entrance, The Headrow (between the lions), please press the button and make your way to the lift and then the first floor.

The Committee announced this inquiry in press notice No.31 of Session 2007-08.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.

Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: