Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee

6 December 2007

No. 8 (07-08)


UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation

The Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee will hold an evidence session on the  proposed UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation on Monday 17 December when evidence will be heard from:

Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council;

Professor Malcolm Grant, President and Provost, University College London;

Ms Lynne Robb, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Corporate Resources, Cancer Research UK; and

Dr Mark Walport, Director, Wellcome Trust

The session will take place in Committee Room 5 at 4.15pm.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


1. Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Adam Afriyie (Conservative, Windsor)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: