Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

6 October 2008

No. 71 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee will hold its first evidence session in this inquiry on Monday 6 October when evidence will be heard from:


Richard Wainer, Head of Education and Skills, CBI;
David Frost, Director General, British Chambers of Commerce;
Anne Seaman, Chief Executive, Skillsmart Retail; and
Matthew Jaffa, Acting Deputy Head of Policy, Federation of Small Businesses.


Martin Dunford, Chairman, Association of Learning Providers;
Sara Mogel, Association of Colleges; and
Tom Wilson, Head of the Organisation and Services Department, TUC.


David Way, National Director of Apprenticeships, LSC; and
Marinos Paphitis, Regional Director, LSC South East.

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House at 4.00pm.

The session is open to the public on a first come, first served basis. Portcullis House is the building directly above Westminster Station, entrance to which is via Victoria Embankment. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: