Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee

4 March 2008

No. 31 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee has decided to hold an inquiry into how responses to the agenda set out in the Leitch Report will affect the broader structures of further education (FE), higher education (HE) and lifelong learning.  The Committee invites evidence on:

  • the responses of RDAs to Leitch and how coherent and structured these are;
  • what the existing regional structures of delivery are and what sub-regional strategies may be required;
  • the role of the Learning and Skills Council and Sector Skills Councils in this context;
  • the respective roles of the further education and higher education sectors in delivering a region-based agenda for Leitch and their coordination with one other; and
  • the impact on students of these initiatives, particularly in the context of policies for lifelong learning.

The deadline for written submissions  is  Friday 18 April 2008.

Guidelines for the submission of evidence

Evidence should be submitted in Word format only, and should be sent via e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from (ie individual or organisation).

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and certainly no more than 3,000 words. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document should include a brief executive summary. Those submitting evidence are reminded that evidence should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted no public use should be made of it, but those wishing to publish their evidence before it is published by the Committee are invited to contact the Clerk of the Committee to obtain permission to do so. Guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: