Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

2 July 2008

No. 65 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee announced on 29 January 2008 that it would be holding a major inquiry into engineering.  Terms of reference for this inquiry were announced on 6 February (press notice No 25).

The Committee also agreed that it would hold a series of case studies within this inquiry and announced the first two on 6 February (press notices No 26 & No 27).  The Committee has now agreed on two further case studies within this inquiry.  These are Geo-Engineering and Engineering in Government. 

The terms of reference for the Engineering in Government case study are as follows:

• the role and effectiveness of the Government Office for Science and the Chief Scientific Advisers in providing engineering advice across Government and communicating issues relating to engineering in Government to the public;

• the use of engineering advice in Government policy making  and project delivery, including examples of policy decisions or project delivery that have been or will be taken with or without engineering advice;

• how Government identifies the need for engineering advice and how Government sources engineering advice;

• the status of engineering and engineers within the civil service, including assessments of the effectiveness of the science and engineering fast streams, and the role and career prospects of specialist engineers in the civil service;

• the role and effectiveness of professional engineers and the engineering community in promoting engineering and providing engineering advice to Government and the civil service; and

• international examples of how engineers and engineering advice are imbedded in Government.

The Committee asks for written submissions in accordance with the guidelines stated below by Friday 19 September 2008.

Please note

Each submission should:

a) be no more than 3,000 words in length;
b) begin with a short summary in bullet point form;
c) have numbered paragraphs; and
d) be in Word format (no later than 2003) with as little use of colour or logos as possible.

A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to and marked “engineering in Government”.  An additional paper copy should be sent to:

Camilla Brace, Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals submitting  written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Please supply a postal address so a copy of the Committee’s report can be sent to you upon publication.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

• Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a proposed memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

• Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organization submitting it is specifically authorised.

• Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives.  If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. 

• Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: