Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee

2 July 2008

No. 64 (07-08)



The Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee announced on 29 January 2008 that it would be holding a major inquiry into engineering.  Terms of reference for this inquiry were announced on 6 February (press notice No 25).

The Committee also agreed that it would hold a series of case studies within this inquiry and announced the first two on 6 February (press notices No 26 & No 27).  The Committee has now agreed on two further case studies within this inquiry.  These are Geo-Engineering and Engineering in Government. 

The terms of reference for the Geo-Engineering case study are as follows:

• the current and potential roles of engineering and engineers in geo-engineering solutions to climate change;

• national and international research activity, and research funding, related to geo-engineering, and the relationship between, and interface with, this field and research conducted to reduce greenhouse gas emissions;

• the provision of university courses and other forms of training relevant to geo-engineering in the UK;

• the status of geo-engineering technologies in government, industry and academia;

• geo-engineering and engaging young people in the engineering profession; and

• the role of engineers in informing policy-makers and the public regarding the potential costs, benefits and research status of different geo-engineering schemes.

The Committee asks for written submissions in accordance with the guidelines stated below by Friday 19 September 2008.

Please note

Each submission should:

a) be no more than 3,000 words in length;
b) begin with a short summary in bullet point form;
c) have numbered paragraphs; and
d) be in Word format (no later than 2003) with as little use of colour or logos as possible.

A copy of the submission should be sent by e-mail to and marked “Geo-Engineering”.  An additional paper copy should be sent to:

Camilla Brace, Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals submitting  written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Please supply a postal address so a copy of the Committee’s report can be sent to you upon publication.

Please also note that:

• Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a proposed memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

• Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organisation submitting it is specifically authorised.

• Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives.  If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. 

• Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.

For media inquiries please call Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718. For any other information please call Ana Ferreira, on 020 7219 2793. Previous press notices and publications are available on our website.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)
Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)
Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)
Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)
Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)
Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)
Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)
Dr Bob Spink (UK Independence Party, Castle Point)
Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)
Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)
Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)
Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: