The content on this page relates to the work of the Committee until the Dissolution of Parliament on 12 April 2010.

Speakers Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority

Welcome to the Speaker’s Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

The role of the Committee is defined by the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009, as amended by the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010. The work of the Committee relates to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA), established under the Parliamentary Standards Act to pay Members’ salaries, set and pay Members’ allowances and to appoint a Compliance Officer to conduct investigations where there is reason to believe that a Member of the House of Commons may have been paid an amount under IPSA’s scheme that should not have been allowed. IPSA will also in due course assume responsibility for the determination of Members’ salaries. For more information about the work of IPSA, see the IPSA website

The Committee considers the candidates proposed by the Speaker, following fair and open competition, for the posts of Chair and members of the IPSA. The candidates for these posts are then approved by the House of Commons and appointed by the Queen.

The Committee also reviews the IPSA’s annual estimate of the resources it needs, in order to ensure the estimate is consistent with the efficient and cost-effective discharge of the IPSA’s functions, before the estimate is laid before the House by the Speaker.

The Committee has 11 members. The Speaker, the Leader of the House of Commons and the chair of the Committee on Standards and Privileges are ex officio members, and five further members of the House of Commons are appointed by the House.  In addition, there are three lay members appointed by the House of Commons following fair and open competition. A lay member is defined under the Act as a person who is not, and has never been, a member of either House of Parliament.

The quorum of the Committee is three.