International Development Committee Announcement

Inquiry into Draft International Development (Official Development Assistance Target) Bill

Invitation to Submit Written Evidence

The Government published its draft International Development (Official Development Assistance Target) Bill on 15 January. The International Development Committee has been tasked with scrutinising the draft Bill and reporting its findings to the House.

The text of the draft Bill and the Explanatory Notes can be found on TSO’s official documents site at:

The main purpose of the Bill is to place a legal duty on the Secretary of State for International Development to ensure that the target of allocating 0.7% of Gross National Income to official development assistance (ODA) is met by the UK Government in 2013 and each subsequent year.

Written evidence is invited from interested organisations and individuals, particularly those  in developing countries. The Committee would welcome submissions which cover all or any of the following points:

  • The overall aims and scope of the draft Bill;
  • Whether legislation is necessary to achieve the 0.7 % target in 2013 and beyond;
  • Whether the proposed accountability measures contained in the draft Bill are sufficient;
  • The potential impact of the draft Bill on the actions of other donor countries in respect of meeting their ODA commitments;
  • Whether enshrining the ODA target in legislation is likely to affect the predictability of aid levels for developing countries;
  • Whether the legislation is likely to affect poverty reduction objectives for ODA expenditure as set out in the International Development Act 2002;
  • The likely impact on the contribution to ODA from other government departments (ie non-Department for International Development ODA expenditure).

The deadline for written submissions is 5 February 2010.

Submission of written evidence

Evidence submitted should:

  • if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format by e-mail to  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details
  • begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages
  • have numbered paragraphs
  • avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

  • Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included. If a number of published documents are sent to accompany written evidence, these should be listed in the covering email.
  • Written evidence submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organization submitting it is specifically authorised.
  • Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. 
  • It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.
  • Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Nigel Evans MP (Con), Mr Mark Hendrick MP (Lab/Co-op), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Mr Mark Lancaster MP (Con), Mr Virendra Sharma (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Andrew Stunell MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Dr Anna Dickson, 020 7219 2738, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)