International Development Committee Announcement

NEW INQUIRY:   HIV/AIDS: Progress on Implementation of DFID’s HIV/AIDS Strategy

It has been the practice of the International Development Committee in this Parliament to examine HIV/AIDS issues each year. Last year the Committee examined the Department for International Development’s new HIV/AIDS Strategy, Achieving Universal Access , published in  June 2008.   This year’s inquiry will review progress on the issues raised by the Committee last year. In particular the Committee will assess the following:

  • the process established by DFID for monitoring the performance and evaluating the impact of the Strategy
  • progress on health systems strengthening and on an integrated approach to HIV/AIDS funding
  • integration of HIV/AIDS prevention, treatment and care with other disease programmes, particularly tuberculosis and malaria
  • the effectiveness of DFID’s Strategy in ensuring that marginalised and vulnerable groups receive prevention, treatment, care and support services
  • the effectiveness of social protection programmes within the Strategy
  • progress towards the commitment to universal access to anti-retroviral treatment and its impact on the effectiveness of care and treatment, particularly for women.

Submission of written evidence

The Committee invites individuals and organisations with relevant expertise and experience to submit written evidence on any of these issues. The Committee particularly welcomes submissions from developing countries.

The deadline for submitting written evidence is  Wednesday 30 September 2009.

Evidence submitted should:

  • if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format by e-mail to  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details
  • begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages
  • have numbered paragraphs
  • avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

  • Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included. If a number of published documents are sent to accompany written evidence, these should be listed in the covering email.
  • Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organization submitting it is specifically authorised.
  • Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. 
  • It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.
  • Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.


Committee membership : Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Nigel Evans MP (Con), Mr Mark Hendrick MP (Lab), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Mr Mark Lancaster MP (Con), Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab) and  Andrew Stunell MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Keith Neary, 020 7219 1226, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)