International Development Committee Announcement


Thursday 22 January 2009, 10.30 am

Grimond Room, Portcullis House


At 10.30 am

  • Mr Michael Foster MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for International Development
  • Adrian Davis, Deputy Director, North and East Asia, Department for International Development
  • Scott Wightman, Director, Asia Pacific, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

This is the fourth and final evidence session in the inquiry into DFID and China.

Members of the public are welcome to attend oral evidence sessions. There is no need to register in advance.

Key issues which are being examined in the inquiry are:

  • The appropriate size and scope of DFID’s aid programme in China;
  • Aid effectiveness and DFID’s ‘added value’ compared to other donors to China;
  • DFID’s support to poverty reduction in China in both rural and urban settings and especially to basic services including education, health, sanitation and water;
  • The effectiveness of the UK Government’s strategy to engage with China on international development, especially on Africa, climate change, sustainable development, poverty reduction and energy security;
  • China’s relationship with multilateral development institutions;
  • DFID’s strategy for phasing out its bilateral programme by 2011; and
  • DFID’s support to addressing gender issues in China.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Chloe Challender, 020 7219 1522, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)