International Development Committee Announcement


Wednesday 21 January at 2:30 pm

The Follow-up International Conference on Financing for Development was held in Doha from 29 November to 2 December 2008. Its objective was to review the implementation of the 2002 Monterrey Consensus which sought to mobilise and increase the effective use of financial resources as part of the global partnership for development.

The outcome document from the Conference, the Doha Declaration, stressed the need to maintain aid commitments despite global economic uncertainty, and called for the United Nations to “hold a conference at the highest level on the world financial and economic crisis and its impact on development.”

The International Development Committee is to hold a one-off evidence session on the outcomes of the Conference. The Committee invites written evidence on the following issues:

  • Progress towards the UN target for developed countries to spend 0.7% of their Gross National Product on Official Development Assistance (ODA), which was reaffirmed in the Doha Declaration;
  • The extent to which the current financial situation will impact on donors’ ability to meet their ODA commitments and the implications of this for DFID’s aid policies;
  • The UK’s contribution to the mobilisation of international resources for development including ODA, private capital flows and innovative sources of finance;
  • Whether international aid commitments should be increased to address the impact of the global economic downturn; and
  • Progress on the mobilisation of domestic resources for development including strengthening national taxation systems, combating capital flight and DFID’s role in enabling countries to harness their own resources.

Further details about the evidence session will be announced nearer the time.

Submission of written evidence

The Committee invites individuals and organisations with relevant expertise and experience to submit written evidence on any of these issues.

The deadline for submitting written evidence is Monday 5 January 2009.

Evidence submitted should:

  • if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format by e-mail to .  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details
  • begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages
  • have numbered paragraphs
  • avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

A guide for written submissions to Select Committees may be found on the parliamentary website at:

Please also note that:

  • Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included. If a number of published documents are sent to accompany written evidence, these should be listed in the covering email.
  • Memoranda submitted must be kept confidential until published by the Committee, unless publication by the person or organization submitting it is specifically authorised.
  • Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet (where it will be searchable), by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.
  • It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.
  • Select Committees are unable to investigate individual cases.



Committee membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Ben Williams, 020 7219 0851, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)