International Development Committee Announcement

NEW INQUIRY:  Department for International Development Annual Report 2008

The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development’s Annual Report 2008 Development: Making it Happen which was published on 8 May 2008 (HC 492).

The Committee invites short written submissions from interested organisations and individuals-especially those from developing countries. The Committee is particularly interested in receiving submissions which address any of the following issues:

  • The implications for achievement of the MDG poverty reduction targets of DFID’s middle-income country strategy and the 90:10 split in funding between low- and middle-income countries
  • The effectiveness of DFID’s mechanisms for evaluating the impact of its aid
  • DFID’s approach to agricultural development (including the likely impact on agricultural research of DFID’s Research Strategy 2008-13).

Submission of written evidence

The deadline for submitting written evidence is Friday 20 June 2008. 

Evidence submitted should:

  • if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details
  • begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages
  • have numbered paragraphs
  • avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet, by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.  Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

Those submitting written evidence should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee contact: Carol Oxborough 020 7219 1226, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)