International Development Committee Announcement


Wednesday 7 May 2008, 10.00am

Committee Room 6


At 10.00am:

  • Mr Eckhard Deutscher, Chair, Development Assistance Committee, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD DAC), and OECD officials

At 11.00am (approx):

  • Mr Maciej Popowski, Director responsible for Aid Effectiveness, Directorate-General for Development, European Commission, and European Commission officials

This is the second of three planned evidence sessions in this inquiry. The session focuses on the experience of aid co-ordination of two major multilateral institutions. With the first witness-the new Chairman of the OECD DAC-the Committee will look at how (and how effectively) the OECD helps to set standards and establish best practice in development broadly but specifically on aid effectiveness. The second witness, from the European Commission, provides an opportunity to examine EU action on co-ordination, both among EU member states and within the Commission.   

Key issues to be examined in the inquiry are:

  • how donors seek to apply the principles of the Paris Declaration and to co-ordinate their aid programmes in terms of objectives and priorities; 
  • ownership:  the role of recipient countries in managing aid flows, articulating their needs and facilitating co-ordination;
  • the benefits and potential difficulties of greater co-ordination: the impact on recipient and donor countries;
  • how bilateral and multilateral aid, including within the EU (member states and EC aid), can be better aligned and co-ordinated;
  • comparative advantage: how to identify, and work to, the strengths of donors;
  • next steps for the Paris Declaration and for aid effectiveness,
  • DFID’s role in facilitating greater co-ordination.   


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)