International Development Committee Announcement


Tuesday 22 April 2008, 10.30am

Committee Room 8, House of Commons


At 10.30am:

  • Josette Sheeran,  Executive Director, and John Aylieff, Director, Programme Design and Support Division, World Food Programme

At 11.30am approx:

  • Simon Maxwell, Director, Dr Steve Wiggins, Research Fellow, and Dr Edward Clay, Senior Research Associate, Overseas Development Institute

At 12.00am approx:

  • Alex Rees, Food Security and Livelihoods Advisor, Save the Children UK

This will be the first of two evidence sessions for the Committee’s inquiry into the World Food Programme and global food security. Key issues to be examined in the inquiry are:

  • The effects on food prices and availability of increasing demand and changes in energy and agricultural policies
  • How the WFP engages with local communities to identify needs, and to assist in programme design
  • How the WFP monitors and evaluates its operations
  • WFP’s strategy to meet increased needs in the context of higher food prices
  • The effectiveness of WFP’s development food aid activities
  • Cooperation between the WFP and other UN Agencies, for example the Food and Agriculture Organisation
  • The prospects for a “one UN” approach in meeting food security needs
  • DFID’s contribution to the WFP and to achieving the MDG 1 hunger targets.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Daniel Kawczynski MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Anna Dickson, 020 7219 2738, or

 Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)