International Development Committee Announcement


At the 1996 World Food Summit the international community committed itself to halve the number of hungry people by 2015. This commitment is echoed in Millennium Development Goal 1: to halve the number of people living on less than $1 a day and those who suffer from hunger.

It is estimated that over 850 million people do not have enough food to eat. The overwhelming majority of these are in developing countries making hunger and malnutrition the number one risk to health worldwide - greater than AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. Recent trends have seen food prices increase alongside accelerating demand. This has implications for food availability and in particular for access to food for the poorest.

The World Food Programme is the UN agency responsible for reducing the number of people suffering from hunger and malnutrition by providing food aid to prevent and respond to food emergencies. The WFP is expected to feed 70 million people in 2008.

As part of a series of inquiries assessing DFID’s work with multilateral agencies, the International Development Committee has decided to begin an inquiry on the World Food Programme and global food security.

Issues to be covered include:

• The effects on food prices and availability of increasing demand and changes in energy and agricultural policies

• How the WFP engages with local communities to identify needs, and to assist in programme design

• How WFP monitors and evaluates its operations

• WFP’s strategy to meet increased needs in the context of higher food prices

• The effectiveness of WFP’s development food aid activities

• Cooperation between the WFP and other UN Agencies, for example the Food and Agriculture Organisation

• The prospects for a “one UN” approach in meeting food security needs

• DFID’s contribution to the WFP and to achieving the MDG 1 hunger targets.

Submission of written evidence

The Committee invites individuals and organisations with relevant expertise and experience to submit written evidence on any of these issues. The Committee is particularly interested in receiving evidence from individuals and organisations based in developing countries.

The deadline for submitting written evidence is Friday 28 March 2008

Evidence submitted should:

• if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details

• begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages

• have numbered paragraphs

• avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet, by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.  Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

Those submitting written evidence should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Anna Dickson 020 7219 2738, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)