International Development Committee Announcement


Using development assistance effectively when it comes from a range of different donors can be difficult for governments in developing countries. Donors may each promote their own agendas and programmes which may not be aligned with the government's own objectives. Recipient countries often manage numerous budgets, and a variety of monitoring and reporting regimes, for a range of different projects. For example, the European Commission reports that there are over 600 projects worth less than ‚1 million in the Tanzanian health sector alone.

The Paris Declaration for Aid Effectiveness was endorsed on 2 March 2005. It is an international agreement signed by over 100 Ministers and Heads of Agencies who committed their countries and organisations to increase efforts in donor harmonisation and alignment. In September 2008, Ghana will host a High Level Forum on the Paris Declaration. Denmark and Vietnam are co-chairing an OECD evaluation of the Declaration in advance of that meeting.

The Committee's inquiry will focus on:

€ how donors seek to apply the principles of the Paris Declaration and to co-ordinate their aid programmes in terms of objectives and priorities

€ ownership: the role of recipient countries in managing aid flows, articulating their needs and facilitating co-ordination

€ the benefits and potential difficulties of greater co-ordination: the impact on recipient and donor countries

€ how bilateral and multilateral aid, including within the EU (member states and EC aid), can be better aligned and co-ordinated

€ comparative advantage: how to identify, and work to, the strengths of donors

€ next steps for the Paris Declaration and for aid effectiveness

€ DFID's role in facilitating greater co-ordination

Submission of written evidence

The Committee invites individuals and organisations with relevant expertise and experience to submit written evidence on any of these issues.

The deadline for submitting written evidence is Friday 15 February 2008. Evidence submitted should:

€ if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details

€ begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages

€ have numbered paragraphs

€ avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:;

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet, by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.



Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Stephen Crabb MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)