International Development Committee Announcement


Thursday 17 January 2008 at 11.30 am, Thatcher Room, Portcullis House


€ Rt Hon Douglas Alexander MP, Secretary of State for International Development

€ Marshall Elliott, Head of DFID Afghanistan

€ Philippa Rogers, Deputy Head of Afghan Drugs Inter-Departmental Unit (ADIDU), Foreign and Commonwealth Office

This is the final evidence session in the Committee's inquiry into Afghanistan. It provides an opportunity to question the Secretary of State on the key issues which the Committee has identified in the course of its inquiry and during its visit to Afghanistan last October and to explore in more detail development aspects of the UK Government's policy on Afghanistan following the Prime Minister's statement in the House of Commons on 12 December 2007.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Stephen Crabb MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee contact: Dr Anna Dickson 0207 219 2738 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)