International Development Committee Announcement


Nigeria is one of the largest and most populous countries in sub-Saharan Africa. Despite oil wealth, poverty levels are high with over 70 million people living on less than $1 a day and one in five children dying before the age of five. Nigeria receives relatively little development assistance per capita (around $6) compared to the average for sub-Saharan Africa (over $20). DFID's programme in Nigeria has increased from £35 million in 2003/04 to £80 million in 2006/07 and to £100 million in 2007/08. Nigeria is one of 22 countries DFID will be monitoring in relation to progress towards its 2008-11 Public Service Agreement Delivery Agreement.

Issues to be addressed in the inquiry:

€ Governance, including regional and local governance

€ Rural poverty and rural livelihoods

€ The management of oil wealth and transparency in the industry

€ Basic service delivery (primary school enrolment is about 60%; Nigeria spends only 5% of its budget on health care)

€ The impact of debt relief on poverty reduction

€ DFID's support for the electoral process and to the National Assembly

€ The role of civil society and DFID's support for the development of voice and accountability

€ Economic growth and the impact of DFID's programme in this area

€ Policy coherence in the UK Government's approach

€ Donor coordination

Submission of written evidence

The Committee invites individuals and organisations with relevant expertise and experience to submit written evidence on any of these issues. The Committee is particularly interested in receiving evidence from organisations in Nigeria.

The deadline for submitting written evidence is Friday 8 February 2008. Evidence submitted should:

€ if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details

€ begin with a one page summary if it is longer than six pages

€ have numbered paragraphs

€ avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA.

Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:;

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet, by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.



Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Stephen Crabb MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Jim Sheridan (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Committee Contact: Dr Anna Dickson, 020 7219 2738, or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)