International Development Committee Announcement


Tuesday 20 November 2007, 10.30am
Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster

€ Michael Hammer, One World Trust
€ Jeff Powell, Bretton Woods Project
€ Nuria Molina, European Network on Debt and Development (EURODAD)

This is the first evidence session in the Committee's inquiry into DFID and the World Bank. The World Bank is the world's single largest funder of development programmes as well as an important actor on global issues such as international trade, poverty, corruption and climate change. The UK contribution to the World Bank has more than doubled in the last two financial years: Britain's commitment to the International Development Association, the arm of the Bank which helps the world's poorest countries, for 2005-08 is around £1.4 billion over the period.

In this session, the Committee will explore a range of World Bank institutional, policy and governance questions, and DFID's role in these, with a panel of non-governmental organisation witnesses. The session provides the broader context for the Committee's discussions with the World Bank during a forthcoming visit to Washington and for subsequent evidence sessions.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Stephen Crabb MP (Con), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Lab), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)