Press Notice 60, Session 2006-07



Tuesday 23 October 2007 at 10:30 am

in Committee Room 15, Palace of Westminster

At 10.30am:

Department for International Development

Jim Drummon - Director, South Asia Division

Lindy Cameron - Former Head of DFID Afghanistan

Peter Holland - Head, Afghan Drugs Inter-Departmental Unit (joint DFID-FCO unit)

This is the first evidence session in the inquiry into Development Assistance in Insecure Environments: Afghanistan.

The inquiry is focusing on the following points:

• The objectives of DFID’s programme in Afghanistan; the trade-off between short term gains and long-term transformation; balancing and prioritising multiple goals and objectives; DFID’s experience and knowledge of working in insecure environments.

• The geographical balance in the distribution of funding, especially between the north and the south.

• The contribution of budget support, through the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund, to strengthening institutional capacity and accountability.

• Coordination of the military and development effort, in particular the UK military effort; progress in the “whole of government” approach.

• Possible tensions between the development and the security agendas; clarity of budget lines and overlap of stabilisation, reconstruction, humanitarian and development assistance

• The effectiveness of the Post Conflict Reconstruction Unit stabilisation effort in Helmand Province.

• The sustainability and effectiveness of counter-narcotics policies and their impact on development.

• The level of funding for and the appropriateness of the Alternative Livelihoods programme.

• The role of NGOs; the impact of the decline in direct core funding on the provision of humanitarian services; the impact of the security situation on NGO activity.

• Harmonisation and coordination of the donor response; the relationship between different aid modalities; the role and effectiveness of the integrated mission.


Committee Membership is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Lab), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)