Press Notice 58, Session 2006-07

Evidence sessions

Cross-departmental Working on Development and Trade

Wednesday 17 October 2007 at 9:15 am

in Committee Room 16, Palace of Westminster

At 9.15am:

• Michael Gidney, Director of Policy, Traidcraft

• Professor Alan Winters, Department of Economics, University of Sussex

At 10.00am

• Gavin Hayman, Campaigns Director, Global Witness and a Board Member of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI)

At 10.30am

• Professor Mark Pieth, Chairman, OECD Working Group on Bribery

• Robert Ley, Counsellor to the Director for Financial and Enterprise Affairs, OECD

This is the first evidence session in the inquiry. The session will examine the effectiveness of cross-departmental working on development and trade issues - including the international trade system, corruption and conflict resources - against the backdrop of the machinery of government changes announced in the June 2007 re-shuffle.

Thursday 18 October 2007

in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 2.30pm:

• Gareth Thomas MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for International Development and the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform

The focus of the inquiry is on the following points:

Trade policy decision-making

• Division of responsibility between the Minister for Trade and the Minister for Trade Promotion and between the Secretaries of State for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform and for International Development;

• Formal decision-making structures between the ministers and departments involved in trade policy.

Direction of trade policy

• How trade policy may evolve under the new arrangements and DFID’s role in policy development;

• The impact of the new structure on international development;

• Likely effects on negotiations at the WTO and with the African, Caribbean and Pacific countries in the Economic Partnership Agreement negotiations which are scheduled to be completed by the end of 2007.

OECD and Corruption

• Progress on implementing the Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises and promotion of the risk awareness tool; role of the UK National Contact Point; and the OECD review of UK implementation of the anti-bribery convention;

• The role of the ‘Ministerial champion’ on international corruption and the effectiveness of the UK Action Plan for Combating International Corruption.

Natural resources

• DFID’s role in the promotion of improved economic and trade governance in resource-rich countries, such as through the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative.

Development aspects of defence exports

• Impact of the changes in ministerial responsibilities on defence export licences and application of the ‘consolidated criteria’ on such exports, particularly criterion 8 on sustainable development.



Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem)

Committee Contact: Matthew Hedges 020 7219 0851 or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on