Press Notice 48, Session 2006-07


Tuesday 17 July 2007 at 10:30 am

Wilson Room, Portcullis House

As previously announced, the International Development Committee will take evidence in public on the DFID Annual Report 2007 from Department for International Development officials at 10.30 on Tuesday 17 July.

The list of witnesses is as follows:

• Sir Suma Chakrabarti KCB, Permanent Secretary

• Mark Lowcock, Director General, Policy and International

• Nemat Shafik, Director General, Country Programmes

• Sue Owen, Director General, Corporate Performance


The Committee has indicated that the particular issues on which it will focus in this year’s inquiry into the Annual Report are:

• Climate change: how effectively is DFID responding to the challenge of climate change in its programmes, staffing structures and use of resources?

• Budget support: what impact does budget support have on recipient countries and on DFID’s effectiveness and structure?

• Governance: DFID identified this as a key area for its future work in the 2006 White Paper Eliminating World Poverty: Making Governance Work for the Poor; what changes has DFID made in its programmes, funding and staffing to reflect this increased priority?

• Distribution of DFID’s bilateral aid between middle- and low-income countries: what are the implications of the commitment to provide 90% of aid to low-income countries?

• Balancing DFID’s rising budget with the requirement to reduce its staffing levels (“doing more with less”): how does this affect the choice of countries in which DFID operates; the programmes it pursues; and the way it channels funding?

• The coherence of DFID's policies and practices with those of other Government departments:  the International Development (Transparency and Accountability) Act 2006 requires DFID to report on the UK Government’s combined efforts to achieve policy coherence for development (Chapter 9 of the Departmental Report).

• Gender: what are the implications of the recently published Gender Action Plan for effective mainstreaming of gender issues across DFID’s policies and programmes?


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Lab), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab). Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem)

Committee Contact: Carol Oxborough 020 7219 1226 or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: