Press Notice 44, Session 2006-07

Evidence session on Prospects for Sustainable Peace in Uganda

Wednesday 4 July 2007 at 9:45 am

Committee Room 15

The International Development Committee will take evidence in public on Prospects for Sustainable Peace in Uganda from the following witnesses:

At 9.45am:

€ Secretary of State for International Development

€ Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

At 10.45am:

€ Marieke Wierda, International Centre for Transitional Justice

€ Nick Grono, International Crisis Group

€ Barney Afako, Ugandan Human Rights Lawyer


The Committee will explore the following issues during the session:

€ What the impact has been of the International Criminal Court warrants on the prospects for peace.

€ Whether there is a tension between the need for peace and the requirement for justice. (And if so, how best this can be addressed.)

€ How International Criminal Court and national processes, including traditional forms of justice, can combine to combat impunity and foster justice and reconciliation.

€ How best grievances, against the Lord's Resistance Army and the Government of Uganda, can be addressed.

€ How the international community can help to create the conditions for sustainable peace and re-development in the north.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Lab), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab). Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem)

Committee Contact: Dr Anna Dickson 020 7219 2738 or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: