Press Notice 40, Session 2006-07

Two New Evidence sessio ns on

DFID's Country Programme in Vietnam

Tuesday 19 June 2007 at 10:30 am
in Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster

At 10.30am:

€ Dr Martin Gainsborough, Director, Bristol-Mekong Project, University of Bristol

€ Ramesh Singh, Chief Executive, ActionAid International

This is the first evidence session in the inquiry. The session is an opportunity to examine the context of DFID's work in Vietnam: political and economic factors; development trends; and key challenges ahead. The witnesses have a background in Vietnam and will address these and related development questions.

Thursday 21 June 2007
in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

[The Committee will first hear evidence on another of its inquiries (DFID's Assistance to Burmese IDPs and Refugees), starting at 2.00 pm. The session on DFID's Programme in Vietnam will follow.]

At 3.30pm approx:

€ Gareth Thomas MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for International Development


The inquiry is focusing on the following points:

€ The appropriate size and scope for DFID's programme in Vietnam.

€ The appropriate balance between the different aid instruments used in Vietnam. The strengths and weakness of budget support over other instruments.

€ Whether DFID is focusing its activities adequately on the most vulnerable groups, including the rural poor and ethnic minorities.

€ Aid effectiveness: DFID's role in Vietnam and where it adds value compared to other donors, particularly in light of Vietnam's cultural and historical links with other donors.

€ Progress against relevant DFID Public Service Agreement targets and the MDGs in Vietnam.

€ The role of the MDGs in shaping DFID's programme of assistance to Vietnam and the Government of Vietnam's Socio-Economic Development Plan (SEDP).

€ The impact of governance on DFID programmes and DFID programmes on governance.

€ Trade and the private sector: the likely impact on development of Vietnam's WTO membership.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab),
Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab). Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem)

Committee Contact: Matthew Hedges 020 7219 0851 or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: