Press Notice 39, Session 2006-07


The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development's Departmental Report 2007 (HC 514) which was published on 15 May 2007.

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has been arranged:

House of Commons, Tuesday 17 July, 10.30am

  • Sir Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, Department for International Development and other DFID officials.

The Committee invites short written submissions from interested organisations and individuals€” especially those from developing countries€”on the 2007 DFID Departmental Report. The Committee is particularly interested in receiving submissions which address any of the following issues:

€ Climate change: how effectively is DFID responding to the challenge of climate change in its programmes, staffing structures and use of resources?

€ Budget support: what impact does budget support have on recipient countries and on DFID's effectiveness and structure?

€ Governance: DFID identified this as a key area for its future work in the 2006 White Paper Eliminating World Poverty: Making Governance Work for the Poor; what changes has DFID made in its programmes, funding and staffing to reflect this increased priority?

€ Distribution of DFID's bilateral aid between middle- and low-income countries: what are the implications of the commitment to provide 90% of aid to low-income countries?

€ Balancing DFID's rising budget with the requirement to reduce its staffing levels ("doing more with less"): how does this affect the choice of countries in which DFID operates; the programmes it pursues; and the way it channels funding?

€ The coherence of DFID's policies and practices with those of other Government departments: the International Development (Transparency and Accountability) Act 2006 requires DFID to report on the UK Government's combined efforts to achieve policy coherence for development (Chapter 9 of the Departmental Report).

€ Gender: what are the implications of the recently published Gender Action Plan for effective mainstreaming of gender issues across DFID's policies and programmes?

Submission of written evidence

Written evidence should be submitted by 6 July 2007. Evidence submitted should:

- if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail. The letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details

- begin with a one-page summary if it is longer than six pages

- have numbered paragraphs

- avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material.

Submissions can also be sent by post to the International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at:;

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within written evidence, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, by publishing it on the internet, by printing it or by making it available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure. The Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence. Please bear in mind that select committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab), Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem).

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589, or

Committee Contact: Carol Oxborough 020 7219 1226, or