Press Notice 25, Session 2006-07

Fair Trade and Developmen, Third evidence session

Tuesday 27 March 2007 at 10.30 am in The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 10.30: Professor Douglas Holt, Said Business School, University of Oxford and Sheila Page, Overseas Development Institute,

At 11.30: Owen Tudor, Head of TUC European Union and International Relations Department and Bert Schouwenburg, GMB London office,

At 12.00: Paul Chandler, Chief Executive, and Michael Gidney, Policy Director, Traidcraft.


Fair trade is recognised by European institutions and agreements as a key tool for sustainable development and poverty reduction. The International Development Committee inquiry into fair trade and development is examining how effective fair trade is in reducing poverty and how donors - in particular the UK's Department for International Development (DFID) - can support fair trade in their development assistance.

Our inquiry will explore the following points:

€ What the impact has been of donor funding for fair trade

€ How donors can best help to develop fair trade consumer markets in both developed and developing countries

€ How aid can be more effectively mobilised to help producers improve the quality of their produce in order to access fair trade markets

€ Whether there is a role for donors in helping to develop the interests of producer communities in developing countries

€ How the international trade system impacts on ethical and fair trade production

€ Whether existing government guidelines on procurement of ethical and fair trade products provide an enabling environment for the development of this market and the opportunities for producers

€ What the role is of supermarkets, retailers and businesses in supporting ethical and fair trade production

€ How trade unions can help to ensure that the drive for cheaper produce does not undermine social and environmental standards in developing countries

€ How, in an increasingly crowded ethical marketplace, consumers can be supported to distinguish between different fair trade brands, labels and codes?


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh MP (Lab).

Committee Contact: Anna Dickson 020 7219 2738 or

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, 020 7219 1589 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: