Press Notice 54a, Session 2005-06

Evidence session on the annual Autumn Meetings of the World Bank and IMF

Thursday 19 October

The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

Each Autumn, the Boards of Governors of the World Bank Group and International Monetary Fund (IMF) hold their annual Meetings to discuss a range of issues related to poverty reduction, international economic development and finance. The Committee will hold an evidence session on the Autumn Meetings with representatives from the Bretton Woods Project and Christian Aid, and with the Secretary of State for International Development. This evidence session will take place on Thursday 19 October at 14.30. The witnesses will be as follows:

At 14.30: Jeff Powell, Coordinator, Bretton Woods Project and Olivia McDonald, Senior Policy Officer, Christian Aid

At 15.30: Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development, Mark Lowcock, Director General, Policy and International, Department for International Development and Mark Bowman, Director, International Finance, HM Treasury

The Committee is interested in addressing the following issues at the evidence session:

• The division of responsibility between the IMF and the World Bank

• Governance of the IMF - how best to increase the voice of developing countries

• World Bank and IMF conditionality

• The Bank’s anti-corruption framework

• Debt cancellation for ‘illegitimate and odious’ debt

• The Bank’s Clean Energy Investment Framework

• The Bank’s approach to infrastructure

The Committee does not intend to produce a report, but will publish the transcript of the evidence session alongside relevant written submissions.


Detailed enquiries to Dr Anna Dickson, Committee Specialist on 020 7219 2738 or


Please note that starting times of evidence sessions may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend either of these sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the ‘Future meetings’ section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), James Duddridge MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)