Press Notice 52, Session 2005-06


Announcement of evidence session on: Reform of the international humanitarian architecture, and the role of the IFRC


Tuesday 18 July 2006, The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Natural disasters during 2005 focused public attention on the policies and practices of humanitarian assistance. In March 2006, the International Development Committee agreed to undertake an inquiry on the Humanitarian Responses to Natural Disasters. The focus of the inquiry is specifically on natural disasters (both slow and rapid onset), although we recognize that there is not always a clear distinction between natural disasters and complex emergencies.

This is the seventh of 8 evidence sessions scheduled for this inquiry. The first part of the session will focus on reform of the international humanitarian system. The second part of the session will examine the role of the IFRC in humanitarian responses to natural disasters.


At 10.30 am Ed Schenkenberg van Mierop, Coordinator, International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA)

At 11.30 am Susan Johnson, Director, National Society and Field Support Division, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)


Detailed enquiries to Dr Hannah Weston, Second Clerk on 020 7219 0851 or

Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website: